Motoette -in forward motion

Marisol (Queen Isis) Coachman-Semi Pro Drag Racer

 Marisol (Queen Isis) Coachman- Semi-Professional Drag Racer – Fastest queen of glamour on two wheels! 

Marisol Coachman is a diverse young, attractive woman juggling her two careers as a  Mary Kay Cosmetic sales representative and a semi pro AMA drag motorcycle racer along with being co-owner and founder of an all women’s race team, Darkside Racing – she clearly has a passion to succeed while simultaneously looking fabulous!

Even with being fairly new on the scene, Marisol has made an impressive impact in the sport of drag racing in portraying a positive role for other inspiring women, who would like to follow in her foot steps.

Moto Race Reports takes a moment to find out more about this mysterious Atlanta based icon and her ambitions as one of the few women drag racers.

MRR- What inspired you to get into motorcycles, and what was your first bike?

I rode on the back of my husband Kawasaki ZX7R motorcycle one day and I happened to see a girl shorter than me riding on her ninja 250.  After seeing that girl ride, I knew that I could ride too.  My first motorcycle was a Ninja 500.

MRR- Can you expand on your racing career? What have you competed in, what were your successes, failures, if any?

Yes, I plan to expand my racing career by attending Star Racing Drag Racing School. Once I compete then I will know what will be my next step in my racing career.  I have competed in Semdra races, AMA Dragbike races, Female Biker Racewars and local races. My successes are really just being able to move up from where I started.  I have won many races and lost some too. But, being able to learn from them and keep on going in racing is my biggest success. I don’t feel I have had any failures and if I did I would really try not to focus on them.

MRR- You are co-owner of Darkside Racing, when did the team get started and how are you incorporating yourself with the team?

Darkside Racing was started in 2005, the idea to start an all women’s race team was created on my desire to race with other women racers and to form an organization where I could compete along side with my friends.  I’m currently working on reforming the team and hope to have two more women joining me this year, which will include road racing and drag racing.

MRR- Recently in January of 2010, you attended the Female Bikers Empowerment Conference in Memphis TN with hundreds of women riders in attendance, what was the experience like for you? And did you participate in any way?

I was not able to speak this year at the conference due to health problems. But I plan on attending and speaking this November for the same organization, focusing on motorcycle safety and inspiring women to reach for their dreams.

I have spoken at The Female Sportbike Weekend and National PRO Conference.  I loved the experience to be able to speak to mostly women about motorcycling, being safe on the street as well as on the track.  It makes me feel great inside that I can be a person to help inform other people.

MRR- Can you expand on what the Female Bikers Empowerment Conference’s main focus is about and what a female rider can expect to learn in attending?

Female Biker Empowerment Association Is an association geared toward the female motorcyclist, and those that enjoy motorcycles.  The reason for FBEA is motorcycle riding is such a male dominated sport and to let the women know that they have an important place in this sport. The conference is intended to empower women and because of this we are more then just a association we are a way of life.

The FBEC is trying to reach women young and old and get them interested in riding by trying to break the barriers and stereotypes of what a female rider is that’s perpetuated by the media. The Association is not an ethnic thing it’s a female thing. A lot of female riders are mothers, doctors, lawyers, and politicians. These women don’t break the mold of what a female rider should be they are the mold of what a female rider is. You can find female riders of every race, creed and color in every age group imaginable, doing every job imaginable.

They hold a conference every year. The conference is an event with seminars and discussions on issues dealing with not only the female motorcyclist but females in general. If there is a lady who rides out there, a lady interested in riding or one that just likes motorcycles then FBEC is the perfect conference for you

MRR- Do you have any plans or desire to race at the Bonneville Salt Flats in the future?

That is one of my dreams to race there at least once in my career. I race primarily stock bikes and my concern with racing Bonneville or events like it, is having the right modifications to compete.  I do have plans, I don’t know when but you will hear about it.

MRR- Is there any one person that you aspire to or who is an inspiration for you?

There are many people that inspire me but mostly the people who are close to me and give me advice on my drag racing career. My husband, who’s my mentor and Rickey Gadson from Rickey Gadson Drag Racing School, who has taught me so much as a teacher. Peggy Llewellyn, who is a successful NHRA Pro Drag Racer in her own right, gave me great advice when I need it. 

MRR- What is your core, soul defining ambition as a female drag racer? What, in your estimation, would be your greatest achievement as a woman in the sport of motorcycle racing?

To be able to represent someone that women and young girls can look up to. It would also be to win a championship.  I would love to win one this year, but time will tell. As I mentioned earlier, one of my main focuses this year would be to work with George Bryce Star Racing. George has a long history with the NHRA Pro Stock Racing Series and an expert on instruction. He worked with Angelle Sampey Seeling, turning her into one of the most successful NHRA Pro Drag Racers to this day. That was a huge selling point for me.

MRR- Can you elaborate on what your goals are for this coming season for 2010?

My goal is to find steady sponsorship so then I can concentrate on my racing agenda and go on to have a very successful racing season. One of my main focuses as a racer is safety and incorporating it into my career as a spokesperson. To inform women riders about street riding and motorcycle safety.  I would love to see Mary Kay Cosmetics become one of my primary sponsors (www.marykay.com/supastars) which would be instrumental for me to achieve a successful racing season this year.  I plan to devote more of my time on motorcycle safety seminars and to also speak on Domestic Violence (The Community Welcome House), Breast Cancer (BRA Bikers Riding For Awareness) and HIV/AIDS (The Red Pump Project). Organizations I feel very passionate about.

We wish Marisol (Queen Isis) all the best this year in accomplishing her personal racing goals and to see her go on to her ultimate goal, Bonneville, in the very near future!

You can follow Marisol by becoming a fan at www.queenisis.ning.com 

Cheers, Marisol!

April 15, 2010 - Posted by | American Motorcycle Association, Moto Race Reports, motorcycle racing, motorcycles

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

