Motoette -in forward motion

Motorland Aragon Post Race Review

 

With a new venue comes a new victory this weekend at Motorland Aragon as Marlboro Ducati’s Casey Stoner claimed his first place win of the season. Despite the Aussie’s top placement in Friday’s 2nd, Saturday’s 3rd  Free Practice and acing the premier spot on the grid with his success in the Qualifiying round, Sunday’s final results was a stunner!

Starting from pole Stoner was on an all out battle to reign over the circuit with two riders who were all too familiar with the podium. First with Fiat Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo fastly working his way up from second on the grid, but ultimately lost out and settled for fourth place. Then with Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa working his way from 5th  early on and into a close second for a back and forth fight for the finish line.

To quote Casey:

“This win is a big relief, to be honest! We had the first race in Qatar wrapped up until I made a mistake and their have been other opportunities to win this year that I have missed out on through my own errors. We have had a lot of problems trying to find the final two or three tenths to run with Dani and Jorge this season but we changed the bike completely this weekend to adjust my position on it and got it working almost how we want it to. I had a little slip off in warm-up this morning which was a worry going into the race. I was staying away from every white line that I could over the first few laps but we were able to pick up the pace when we needed to and bring home a win. I want to thank the team, the factory and everybody who has stuck by me – I’m just sorry it took so long!”

To quote Dani:

“I’m pretty happy with second place today even though of course I wanted to win in front of the Spanish fans,” said Pedrosa, who had won the two previous rounds. “In the first corner I had a slide which lost me a couple of places and then over the next few laps I had to make up some positions before getting behind Casey.”

“By this point he was quite a way in front and our pace was similar at this stage so I tried really hard to catch him and managed to close the gap. But then I started to have some rear-wheel slides and it wasn’t possible for me stay with him so I thought: ‘Okay, this is my place today’.”

Admitting that 56 points is a big ask to overcome in the remaining five rounds Pedrosa nevertheless believes there is still everything to play for.

“Our bike here was struggling more with tyre wear than some of the others, but anyway, second place is not bad and the Championship is still alive, even though it will be very difficult to catch Lorenzo,” he said. “I’d like to say thanks to my team who are working really hard, and I want to maintain this momentum because recently we have been fast at every race. I’m looking forward to Honda’s home event at Motegi.”

Stoner and Pedrosa were not the only two going head to head through out the 24 lap race. Ducati’s Nicky Hayden and Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo were duking it out on the tarmac fighting over the final third position on the podium. After losing out to Pedrosa on the third lap, lorenzo just couldn’t keep the pace with his closest contender and relinquished the opportunity to maintain his perfect record in standing on the podium this season. Ironically, it was Hayden’s first time on the podium for season!

To quote Nicky:

“It feels great to be back on the podium and I really enjoyed myself today. The bike has been working really well all weekend and in the race I was able to get a good start and stay with Jorge. There wasn’t really anywhere I could get a wheel in and over the last couple of laps he pushed hard to get away but I decided that fourth wasn’t good enough for me today. I did a bit of a backyard move in the chicane over there and managed to hold him off to the line. It’s nice to be on the podium, it has been a really good weekend for us and for the team, the sponsors and the supporters I’m glad we could be up here today. We’ll try to do it again a few more times before the seasons over!”

To quote Jorge:

“My start was very good, but during the race I struggled a lot with Nicky always behind me, very close! We can’t be happy with the result and I am disappointed to finish my podium run, but the most important thing is that we did finish and we still took points for our championship. We have five more races to go and, although this is a complicated moment for us and we have some things to address, I am confident that we can improve again. Now we go to Motegi and I am looking forward to a good result at the home of Yamaha.”

Yamaha’s Monster Tech 3’s very own Ben Spies made an impressive 5th place after Andrea Dovizioso went down in the final lap.

Teammate Fiat Yamaha’s Valentino Rossi also had a dissapointing weekend after coming in 6th; struggling with shoulder problems which might just be the reason Rossi doesn’t finish out the last two races of the season. This decision could possibly futher drive the wedge between he and his team after Rossi annouced he would be leaving Factory Yamaha and signing with Ducati for 2011.

To quote Valentino:

“This was a very difficult race for us; we had a lot of problems all weekend and I was very slow today. I had to try to arrive to the end but I couldn’t do better than sixth. All the Yamahas have suffered here but my shoulder problems made it even worse for me and this, combined with the problems with our package at this track, made it extra hard. We’re very sad this afternoon and we hope for better in Japan.”

Regardless of Sunday’s results, Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo still leads the championship with a total of 284 points, just ahead of Honda’s Dani Pedrosa by 56 points. Pedrosa has 228 points landing him in second. Casey Stoner gave himself a boost into third by his excellent performance this weekend putting him at 155 points. Rossi remains in fourth, just one point ahead of Andrea Divizioso.

Pos. Rider Team Bike
1 Casey Stoner Ducati Marlboro Ducati
2 Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Honda
3 Nicky Hayden Ducati Marlboro Ducati
4 Jorge Lorenzo Fiat Yamaha Yamaha
5 Ben Spies Tech 3 Yamaha Yamaha
6 Valentino Rossi Fiat Yamaha Yamaha
7 Marco Simoncelli San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda
8 Alvaro Bautista Rizla Suzuki Suzuki
9 Marco Melandri San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda
10 Aleix Espargaro Pramac Racing Ducati
11 Hector Barbera Paginas Amarillas Aspar Ducati
12 Colin Edwards II Tech 3 Yamaha Yamaha
13 Hiroshi Aoyama Interwetten Honda MotoGP Honda
14 Mika Kallio Pramac Racing Ducati

 

Footnotes:

Monster Yamaha Tech 3 confirmed Colin Edwards extended his contract and signed on for another year, continuing a partnership with the French outfit that started back in 2008. Colin will be welcoming current WSB racer, Cal Crutchlow into the family next season.

To quote Colin:

“I don’t know if next year will be my last one, I’m just looking forward to pushing as we normally do and riding hard. If Yamaha need something I’m always there, the other three Yamaha guys are going to be young. I’m just looking to fight and have fun.”

Commenting on his link-up with 24 year-old British rider Crutchlow, who will arrive from WSBK, Edwards added: “I think it will be interesting. I don’t know Cal well but he’s young, he’s hungry and he’s ready so I’ll be here to help out if I can. I’m still looking for that first win so I’m still hungry too!”

Pre-race on Sunday, in honour of fallen Moto2 racer Shoya Tomizawa, the Motorland Aragon paddock assembled for a moment of silence after placing the 19 year-old’s Techonmag-CIP bike on the grid. After Dorna retired his #48 from the Moto2 championship, his family will receive the Michel Metraux Trophy at the next round in Tomizawa’s homeland in Japan’s Motegi.

September 21, 2010 - Posted by | Andrea Dovizioso, Aragon, Ben Spies, Casey Stoner, Colin Edwards, Dani Pedrosa, Ducati, Jorge Lorenzo, Motegi, Moto2, MotoGP, motorcycle racing, motorcycles, Valentino Rossi

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

