Motoette -in forward motion

Valencia: MotoGP Post Race Review ~Season Finale

This past Sunday at Spain’s Valencia circuit was the perfect ending to a very exciting race season for 2010, becoming the last but not least final show down that did not disappoint the fans.

Fiat Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo managed to reach another milestone and broke three records with a first place podium win. By placing first on the tight and twisty track, Jorge not only broke the record for number of points scored in a single season, but he was also the first rider to finish in the top 4 in all 18 races, further breaking the barrier of his non podium finish at Valencia.

To quote Jorge:

“Coming here to Valencia I really wanted to win one more time in this fantastic season, in front of my home fans. In the practices I was fast all weekend, but it seemed like Casey was even faster. I made a good start today but in the second corner trying to pass Casey I got overtaken by three or four riders, then I had a hard fight with Simoncelli when I nearly fell! I kept calm after that and concentrated and then lap-by-lap I recovered. I had a wonderful fight with Casey at the end.

Winning here in front of my home crowd at this special track is one of the happiest moments of my life. We are proud to have got the record for the most number of points with 383, I used to be known as a crazy rider who crashed too much so to demonstrate consistency in this way makes me proud. Thanks to Yamaha and everyone involved for a fantastic season – now we have time to celebrate tonight before we start working for 2011 on Tuesday. Finally I want to say goodbye and good luck to Valentino – I am looking forward to racing him next year!”

From the start line it was off to an exciting battle of forces with Marlboro Ducati’s Casey Stoner immediately taking the front position from pole. Still recovering from a collarbone injury, Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa unexpectedly shot out from his 8th position and soon tucked in behind Stoner in second place on the very first lap. unfortunately, Casey could not hold on to his fast paced lead due to his current physical condition and his teammate, Nicky Hayden soon passed, stealing his second spot.

Both Fiat Yamaha rivals, Jorge Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi lost ground right out of the grid. The confirmed World Champion dropped back to fifth after a good start and was passed by several riders on the second corner in the attempt to pass Casey Stoner.

The steadfast Spaniard soon made his way back up the line but not without a hair-raising close call contest with rookie San Carlo Honda Gresini’s Marco Simoncelli. Lorenzo defied gravity and miraculously recovered his Yamaha M1 after a near collision with Simoncelli. It took several laps to regain his pace and composure, but the unstoppable Lorenzo charged ahead and overtook the front-runner, Casey Stoner at lap 23 and crossed the finish line 4.5 seconds ahead of the Aussie.

In the ending chapter and final race of his career with Fiat Yamaha, Valentino Rossi put up a good fight in farewell to the factory team. With a second row start and losing 4 places at the start line by the first turn, Rossi in his consistent determination climbed his way through the coterie, picking off riders one by one. Joining in the fun at the front of the pack, Rossi eventually had to settle for third on the podium after giving it his all with a bad shoulder.

The satisfied Valentino will exit his career with Yamaha with 46 wins and 4 World Championships in his 7 years with the team.

To quote Valentino:

“Honestly I’m happy with this final result with Yamaha, because we had a difficult weekend here. I didn’t get a good start but I realised straight away that I was much faster today and that my bike felt good. At one point I thought I might be able to win but in the later part of the race I just didn’t have enough strength to stay with Lorenzo and Stoner, this is a very hard track when you’re not completely fit.

I started to make a few mistakes because I didn’t have enough power to stop the bike so after a bit I decided it was better to slow down and keep my third place. Arriving on the podium was my way to say thank you to my bike, to Yamaha and to all the people who have worked with me in these seven seasons.

It’s been a great experience and I have enjoyed it so much. 46 is a great number of wins – of course I wanted more but I think I can be happy with what I have done here. We have finished the season strongly with five podiums in a row and after such a difficult season we can feel happy about how we have ended. It’s been a wonderful seven years, great fun with a special atmosphere, many fantastic victories and four world championships. I stopped with my bike after the race today just like I did at Welkom when this story began, it was the right way to say goodbye to her. Thank you to everyone, we have wonderful memories.”

The second half of the race intensified with Casey Stoner’s fast failing tyres giving way to Lorenzo taking the lead at lap 22, demoting the soon to be leaving Ducati rider to second on the podium. Not far behind was the battle for fourth, with Marco Simoncelli, Andrea Dovizioso and Dani Pedrosa fighting over the same spot on the tarmac! The American rider for Yamaha Monster Tech 3, Ben Spies showed up soon after in the few remaining laps and nabbed the fourth spot leaving the other three riders to campaign over fifth and sixth position.

To quote Casey:

“It is nice to bring this era to a close on the podium and I think that is fitting. I have so many great memories of these past few years with Ducati, from my first win at Qatar in 2007 and that race in Barcelona the same year, to the title success at Motegi and my wins at Phillip Island. I also especially remember my return to action in Portugal last year.”

To quote Andrea:

“We have done a good job here at Valencia and we can be happy that we were the first Honda rider home today. Our pace wasn’t enough to compete for the win so we can’t be totally satisfied of course, but overall we’ve had a positive end to the season. I was missing some speed in the middle of the corners today which is an area to work on in future, as is improving the stability under braking. I’m disappointed I couldn’t re-pass Spies, but my tyres were very worn by the end and I couldn’t fight in the last laps because the grip was dropping off quite a lot and it was difficult to maintain the pace from the first part of the race.”

Dovizioso eventually seized fifth, ahead of Simoncelli in sixth with Pedrosa trailing behind in seventh. Another war zone in the second half of the race was over eighth position. Hector Barbera managed to pull ahead of Alvaro Bautista, Randy De Puniet and Aleix Espargaro, coming in eleventh and missing the top ten list.

Two non finishers were Nicky Hayden and Loris Capirossi. The American Ducati rider Nicky Hayden, crashed after securing a second position early into the race, forcing him to become a spectator from the side lines. Rizla Suzuki’s Loris Capirossi had to settle for another disappointing DFN when he had to bring his bike in on the 9th lap of the race. Loris will be leaving Suzuki MotoGP team after 3 years with the factory team.

To quote Loris:

“I have had a great three years at Suzuki and am obviously very sad to be leaving. The results have not been what we wanted, but we have never given up trying and the whole crew has always given me the support and help I’ve wanted. I have made some good friends during my time here and I hope those relationships will last long after the racing. I want to wish Paul, Sahara-san, Álvaro and the rest of the team all the best for 2011 and I look forward to fighting against them on a race-track somewhere in the near future.”

Footnotes:

~  Dani Pedrosa Continues to have numbness down his whole arm as there is nerve damage and most likely some vascular damage as well.

He’s been having electric shock treatment to try and stimulate the nerves. It looks like this could very well  be an injury that takes a long time to recover from.

~ Valentino Rossi keeps his 2004 M1 in his bedroom, and often wakes up to find he hung his socks on it overnight.

When he’s not sleeping with his beloved motorcycle, he will have his shoulder operated on sometime in the week after the testing that starts tomorrow.

~ Jorge Lorenzo is likely to use number one on his Yamaha next year.

~  Ben Spies set a new points record for a debut season by a satellite team rider.

~ Randy de Puniet and Loris Capirossi It was confirmed at Valencia that both will be joining the Ducati Pramac Racing team for 2011.

Final Race Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Fiat Yamaha Team Yamaha 154.2 46’44.622
2 20 27 Casey STONER AUS Ducati Team Ducati 154.0 +4.576
3 16 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Fiat Yamaha Team Yamaha 153.7 +8.998
4 13 11 Ben SPIES USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 153.3 +17.643
5 11 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Repsol Honda Team Honda 153.2 +19.160
6 10 58 Marco SIMONCELLI ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 153.1 +20.674
7 9 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 152.8 +26.797
8 8 40 Hector BARBERA SPA Paginas Amarillas Aspar Ducati 152.6 +29.288
9 7 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP Suzuki 152.6 +29.451
10 6 14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 152.6 +29.860
11 5 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Pramac Racing Team Ducati 152.5 +31.761
12 4 5 Colin EDWARDS USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 152.4 +33.604
13 3 33 Marco MELANDRI ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 152.2 +36.622
14 2 7 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN Interwetten Honda MotoGP Honda 152.1 +38.968
15 1 71 Carlos CHECA SPA Pramac Racing Team Ducati 151.2 +56.169
Not Classified
    65 Loris CAPIROSSI ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP Suzuki 150.2 17 Laps
    69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati 149.1 28 Laps

 

World Standing in Points

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Jorge LORENZO Yamaha SPA 383
2 Dani PEDROSA Honda SPA 245
3 Valentino ROSSI Yamaha ITA 233
4 Casey STONER Ducati AUS 225
5 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Honda ITA 206
6 Ben SPIES Yamaha USA 176
7 Nicky HAYDEN Ducati USA 163
8 Marco SIMONCELLI Honda ITA 125
9 Randy DE PUNIET Honda FRA 116
10 Marco MELANDRI Honda ITA 103
11 Colin EDWARDS Yamaha USA 103
12 Hector BARBERA Ducati SPA 90
13 Alvaro BAUTISTA Suzuki SPA 85
14 Aleix ESPARGARO Ducati SPA 65
15 Hiroshi AOYAMA Honda JPN 53
16 Loris CAPIROSSI Suzuki ITA 44
17 Mika KALLIO Ducati FIN 43
18 Alex DE ANGELIS Honda RSM 11
19 Roger Lee HAYDEN Honda USA 5
20 Kousuke AKIYOSHI Honda JPN 4
21 Carlos CHECA Ducati SPA 1
22        
November 9, 2010 - Posted by | Alvaro Bautista, Andrea Dovizioso, Ben Spies, Casey Stoner, Colin Edwards, Dani Pedrosa, Ducati, Jorge Lorenzo, Loris Capirossi, marco simoncelli, MotoGP, motorcycle racing, motorcycles, Nicky Hayden, Valencia, Valentino Rossi, Yamaha

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

