Motoette -in forward motion

MotoGP Post race review~ Jerez Spain

 Reigning World Champion, Jorge Lorenzo took his first win of the season in a dramatic turn of events as a result of a very wet Gran Premio bwin de España circuit this Sunday. Following in his path were the recovering Dani Pedrosa in second and Nicky Hayden finishing in third for the podium.

Wet weather conditions could not keep 8 of the 17 premier class riders from slipping and sliding on the rain-soaked tarmac at the Jerez circuit. Making it more of a demolition derby than Grand Prix race!

With what looked to be a typical race day with Repsol Honda’s Casey Stoner leading in the race warm up and 1st at pole for the sixth consecutive time, the Aussie was clearly in line for the center podium for a second time this season. His excellent front position right out of the gate was soon snatched away from him on the 5th lap when San Carlo Honda Grisini’s Marco Simonchelli made a bold move overtaking the Australian. To add fuel to the fire, 3 laps later, Stoner was the victim of circumstance when Marlboro Ducati’s Valentino Rossi lost his front end while progressively making his way up the line from his 12th start position. In the attempt to pass Stoner, the intense Italian took both of them into the gravel pits when the two Factory machines grazed each other.

This chain reaction handed Simonchelli a rare opportunity to control the lead with 3 seconds over Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo, in second. But the big haired Italian could not keep the pace when he high sided in the 11th lap on the soggy track, ejecting him from the race.

Rossi was able to get back into the race in 15th position, but the furious Stoner could not salvage his RC212V and reenter the race, forcing him to take a rare DNF. Rossi once again made his way up the line and crossed the finish line in a handsome 5th place. The gutsy Italian later visited the Repsol paddock to apologize to the fallen Stoner. Controlling his temper, Stoner left Rossi scratching his purposefully placed helmet when he questioned the dubious move being more about ambition than his talent!

Repsol Honda’s ailing Dani Pedrosa got off to a bad start, but soon worked up to the head of the pack with a little help from the moist weather conditions. He temporarily gave up his 2nd place lead to Yamaha’s Ben Spies, but was handed it back when Spies went down with 3 laps to go losing 20 points in the process. This also catapulted the seasoned American Monster Yamaha Tech 3 rider, Colin Edwards into a promising 3rd spot, but relinquished his position when his bike experienced technical problems in the last lap, forcing him off the track. The fatigued Spaniard happily took second on the podium and the four-week break to have surgery on his aching shoulder, as a result from a double fracture on his left collarbone from 2010.

Marlboro Ducati’s Kentucky Kid, Nicky Hayden stayed strong and true through-out the race and was rewarded with a third spot on the Spanish podium.

San Carlos Honda Grisini’s Hiroshi Aoyama was pleased as punch obtaining his best position yet, coming in 4th.

After Valentino Rossi’s astonishing come back into 5th, Mapfre Aspar Team’s Hector Barbera trailed behind in a solid 6th. Cardion ab Motoracing’s Karel Abraham took a header, but was able to reestablish himself back into the race placing 7th,  with British Monster Yamaha Tech 3 rider, Cal Crutchlow emulating Abrahams’ doom by going down while leading in 5th position. He was able to rally back up into 8th in the final race results.

The disappointed Repsol Honda’s Andrea Dovizioso had a promising start 6th in pole position, but was slowly losing his pace and actually went off into the gravel with what to look to be traction issues. He pitted with ten laps to go, changing out his well-worn over-heated Bridgestone tyres and reentered the race just in time to finish in 14th.

Ducati’s Pramac Racing Team’s, Randy De Puniet crashed out and placed another DFN, making it two for two for the French rider.

Rider quotes:

Jorge Lorenzo : Position : 1st
 
“It has been one of my most patience races. It’s a great victory, which we needed and I feel so good. This is also the first time I have won in wet conditions, the first time ever! Now we are working to improve our bike, taking as much points as possible on the way. The King of Spain said to me that he would bring me good luck after our meeting last February in Madrid, he was right! With the competition so high this year I never imagined I would be leader after two races. I am so happy to have won this weekend, especially as my friends from Yamaha Indonesia came all the way here to support us; ?Semakin di Depan’ means ?One Step Ahead’ which was true today!”

Dani Pedrosa : Position 2nd
“It’s been a very difficult race. At the start, many riders overtook me and I thought “that’s it”. Anyway, I knew there were 27 laps and the situation was difficult for the tyres. I was a little nervous after my bad start, but when I realised that in the first lap I was faster than in the warm up, I calmed down and started to improve. I took a good pace and had to ride at maximum concentration in order not to not make any mistakes; it was very easy to crash.

Casey Stoner: DFN
“We made a good start to the race and the bike felt good for the first few laps, then the tyres seemed to move a little so we tried to conserve them in case it rained again. I really wanted the chance to fight the Spanish riders here in a dry race, so it was disappointing for me that it was wet.

However, we were competitive here in the wet and dry and this is very important for us – at a track that hasn’t been that great for me in the past. After so much hard work I hate to have a race like this because the team did a great job all weekend and now we go home empty-handed.

With the accident, I heard Valentino arriving and I wasn’t worried about anyone passing me at that point in the race so I gave him plenty of room. It was a racing incident and there’s not much we can do, what is more frustrating is the reaction of the stewards and their assistance for Valentino and not for me, it was unbelievable. I want to just get to the next race now in Estoril, where I’m sure we can be competitive again”.

Valentino Rossi : Position 5th 

”Yes it was a crazy race because it was difficult conditions and everyone was on the limit with the softer tyres,” explained Rossi. “I was very fast in the beginning of the race in the wet, but unfortunately I made a mistake in braking and I crashed. Unfortunately, I also crashed into Stoner. I went to him to say sorry that I made a mistake. With my race today, we had the potential to try and win or finish on the podium, but at the end the result isn’t so bad. I came back to finish fifth which was important points for the championship.”

Ben Spies: DFN

“I don’t think of it as a race today, it was more attrition. Once we moved into fourth behind Nicky I knew I could get past so just waited for the right moment. Dani was only a few seconds ahead of me and I thought for sure we could get on the podium. I slowly started to catch him, Jorge was obviously going to win but we could go one two. I put it all out there and caught Dani. As soon as I passed him I knew that we had second place under control, he wouldn’t be able to get back by but I needed to not make any mistakes. Every corner after I passed him I slowed down, taking it easy then all of a sudden I was on the floor. Obviously it was my mistake, but looking at the data I was going slower than I had all race. It was one of those things; I think the tyres were the limiting factor today. I think it was a great show for the crowd though!”

The next race will be hosted by Estoril in Portugal. Race day commencing on Sunday, May 1, 2011

Jerez de la Frontera, Sunday, April 03, 2011

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 1 Jorge LORENZO SPA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 141.0 50’49.046
2 20 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 140.1 +19.339
3 16 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati 139.7 +29.085
4 13 7 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 139.6 +29.551
5 11 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Ducati Team Ducati 138.2 +1’02.227
6 10 8 Hector BARBERA SPA Mapfre Aspar Team MotoGP Ducati 137.9 +1’08.440
7 9 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing Ducati 137.7 +1’14.120
8 8 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 137.4 +1’19.110
9 7 24 Toni ELIAS SPA LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 136.4 +1’42.906
10 6 21 John HOPKINS USA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP Suzuki 136.2 +1’48.395
11 5 65 Loris CAPIROSSI ITA Pramac Racing Team Ducati 136.0 +1’51.876
12 4 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Repsol Honda Team Honda 133.6 1 Lap
Not Classified
    5 Colin EDWARDS USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 140.0 1 Lap
    11 Ben SPIES USA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 141.3 3 Laps
    14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA Pramac Racing Team Ducati 140.3 11 Laps
    58 Marco SIMONCELLI ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 143.9 16 Laps
April 3, 2011 - Posted by | Andrea Dovizioso, Ben Spies, Casey Stoner, Colin Edwards, Dani Pedrosa, Ducati, Estoril, girlracer, Hector Barbera, helmet, Jerez, Jorge Lorenzo, marco simoncelli, MotoGP, motorcycle racing, Nicky Hayden, Randy De Puniet, Valentino Rossi

1 Comment »

  1. GO ROSSI, ALLWAYS GOING HARD WITH NO PRISONERS,,,AND TO STONERS COMMENT,I WOULD PICK UP A 7 TIMES WORLD CHAMP OVER YOU ANYDAY…

    Comment by QUINTON ELLIOTT | April 4, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

