Motoette -in forward motion

MotoGP Official Test Day~ Estoril Portugal

Monday, May 2, 2011 

The team riders got to hang out at the coastal Portuguese circuit for one more day on Monday, this time having some fun in the sun for an official day of MotoGP testing. This test gives the riders and the teams behind them, an opportunity to fine tune and perfect man and machine with new and existing set ups. Monday’s testing was to center around the new Bridgestone tyres and the introduction of the 1000cc engines for the 2012 season. The sunlit official test day was split into two sessions, one in the morning and one in the afternoon.

Honda’s Marco Simoncelli set the fastest lap of the day, this time without crashing. His main focus of the day; try out the new tyre compound. One for the front and two for the rear. The expeditious Italian also took the opportunity to evaluate new clutch settings.

 Marco Simoncelli quote after 70 laps: 1st position

“I’m obviously satisfied after this test but also angry because we showed one time more that yesterday we could have ridden with the first group.” We tried something new that could definitely help us in the future and the new Bridgestone tyre for 2012, and I’m quite happy with that too.”

Yamaha’s teammates Ben Spies and Jorge Lorenzo came off the track feeling good about their testing experience. American Ben Spies had a nice end to a disappointing race yesterday by updating his M1’s suspension components, a new swing arm and testing the electronics in an effort to gain more grip on the latest Bridgestone tyres.

Jorge Lorenzo was very pleased with the race weekend as well as the official testing, laping the fastest in the morning round and 2nd fastest in the afternoon. The Mallorcan did similar testing to his teammate and felt more confident in the overall set up and the new Bridgestone compounds.

Jorge Lorenzo quote after 91 laps: 2nd postion

“I’m very happy with the test we have done today. Before I was not feeling as safe and as comfortable going into corners as I did last year and in 2009. Now we have found something with the chassis set up that works much better so I feel comfortable again. I think we can be faster with the corners now so I am looking forward to going to France to keep fighting for more podiums.”

Ben Spies quote after 69 laps: 7th position

“It’s been a decent day of testing for us after what happened yesterday. We started over today and I’ve been happy with the sessions. We learned something later on this afternoon which I think is really going to benefit us in Le Mans that we haven’t been able to try before now. There was a good lap time improvement today, I did the best I could with what I had so I’m looking forward toLe Mans to start fresh.”

Honda’s Casey Stoner felt good about the new Bridgestones and concentrated on the clutch and improving the stability with the front forks on his RV212C after experiencing a lot of “hopping”. The Aussie has also been having some back issues, which could be part to blame as to why he only placed 3rd on the podium on Sunday.

Casey Stoner quote after 49 laps: 3rd position

“We haven’t had a lot to test, there aren’t really any new parts, we tried a different system on the clutch which was fine but not actually improving on what we have. We tried a few Bridgestone tyres with a new construction and compound; they were definitely an improvement especially on the left side, so that went well.

We tested the new 2011 fork and everything worked well with them, last time we tried them we had some issues with chattering but we seem to have fixed that now. This is a big improvement as these forks work better on the bumps and on the brakes so hopefully we can continue to use them in the future.

The beginning of the day my back was really sore and difficult to ride with but then it eased a little as the day progressed, so I hope it continues to get better”.

Monster Yamaha Tech 3 teammates, Cal Crutchlow and Colin Edwards had a positive weekend, finishing in the top ten in Sunday’s race and again with the official MotoGP testing.Britain’s Cal Crutchlow concentrated on the handlebar adjustments and wheelbase, shaving several seconds off his timesheet on test day. While his counterpart put his attention towards an array of suspension settings and more rear grip.

Cal Crutchlow quote after 71 laps: 4th position

“Today was really positive and I can’t really ask for much more than finishing fourth quickest with only three of the fastest riders in the world in front of me. I was able to lap nearly two seconds faster than I did in the race but I was quietly confident that the changes we planned to make for today would mean I could go a lot faster. Losing so much track time because of the weather at the weekend meant I couldn’t risk taking a gamble on making too many changes for the race.

I honestly didn’t expect to break into the 36s but I felt comfortable and even with 25-laps on the same set of tyres I was doing low to mid-37s. I know everyone goes faster in a test but my time today was faster than Dani Pedrosa’s best lap in the race and he won, so my pace bodes well for the future. We moved the handlebars and lengthened the wheelbase and I just felt much more comfortable. The bike was a lot easier to ride and much less aggressive and I was fast throughout the whole day. If I’d had this set-up for the race I’m sure I could have had a battle with Colin, and he was sixth, so that’s really encouraging. I can’t wait forLe Mansnow. It is the home race for the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Team and today’s result has given me a lot of confidence that I can be competitive again on another track I have to learn from scratch.”

Colin Edwards quote after 51 laps: 6th position

“It was a really positive test and it was good to get an opportunity to have a play around with some different settings that you don’t necessarily get chance to try over the race weekend. We just concentrated all our effort on finding some rear traction and i t felt like we’ve made a big step. We tried various different combinations for the rear shock and linkages and we’ve found a good direction and we definitely made it better than it was for the race, so hopefully we found a set-up that will help us at the next race in Le Mans. I really like the direction Bridgestone is going in for 2012. I felt comfortable immediately on the new tyres and they’ve done some phenomenal work. Right from the first lap you get a lot of understanding and feel. The lap time was pretty similar with both and I’d love to have them this year. Based on what we’ve figured out today and the improvements we’ve made, I’m looking forward to going toFranceand getting another top six finish for the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Team in its home race.”

Both Marlboro Ducati riders, Valentino Rossi and Nicky Hayden focused on the frame of their GP11 Italian constructed machines, both walking away feeling more satisfied, which was exhibited by the faster lap times by days end.

Valentino Rossi quote after 82 laps: 5th position

“It was a positive test because the new updates were immediately better. The bike was more sensitive to changes made to the front, which makes it easier to work on a setup that works better for me. I realized that as soon as I got on the bike and then, over the course of the following hours, we constantly progressed.

We also had an engine with a slightly smoother power delivery that I liked a lot. We’ll start using it when the rotation plan allows it. I liked the tyres that Bridgestone had us try, they seemed very good. Of course the other riders also made great progress, and the less positive about today is the gap to the front on my best lap. Anyway, everything that the Ducati technicians brought worked, and that means that we’re on the right path. We have to continue working, but today’s test gives us confidence.”

Nicky Hayden quote after 89 laps: 9th position

“We were lucky to get a really good day with the weather. We improved, because I consistently went a lot faster than in qualifying, but it looked like everybody else improved too. I did my best time on the 2012 tyres, so Bridgestone made a nice step there. I got on the updated chassis after lunch, and it had a better feel over some of the bumps, and still good stability under braking. The updated engine made the bike a little smoother, and I liked it overall.”

Andrea Dovizioso quote after 63 laps: 8th position

“Today we tested a new clutch that gave us positive feedback and we had less hopping. We also tested two different settings that gave me a better feeling under braking. In general I was riding more comfortable than during the race weekend. Bridgestone also brought two new rear tyres but the feeling was not so good as I had some chattering on the front. Anyway, it has been a positive test and I’m looking forward to the next races”.

Dani Pedrosa quote after 17 laps: 10th positon

“The shoulder is a bit better than last night thanks to some muscle relaxing tablets I took, but I’ve still got a lot of pain. I did a few laps with the bike I used yesterday for the race, but I saw immediately that I wouldn’t be able to do the full program today.

I tried one modified clutch looking to reduce the hopping, the bumping on the rear we have when we release the clutch.It’s a shame not be able to profit from this test because we wanted to also try the new 2011 front fork and rear shock to get more traction, but I was unable to do it.

Now, the plan before Le Mans race is to rest as much as I can for three or four days, trying to recover. Then I must check what is the best technique to relax the muscles, because it would be good to arrive inLe Mansin good shape and not so tense”.

Two riders that did not participate at the official MotoGP test, was Mapfre Aspar’s Hector Barbera, who is suffering from a vertebrae injury after an awkward crash on Sunday’s race. Also, Pramac’s Randy de Puniet returned to Nice to continue treatment on an injured leg.

Session 1 – 02/05/11

Pos Rider Team Fastest lap Prev. Gap Lead. Gap Laps
1 Marco Simoncelli San Carlo Honda Gresini 1:36.211 70
2 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Factory Racing 1:36.316 +0.105 +0.105 91
3 Casey Stoner Repsol Honda Team 1:36.602 +0.286 +0.391 49
4 Cal Crutchlow Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:36.850 +0.248 +0.639 71
5 Valentino Rossi Ducati Marlboro Team 1:37.382 +0.532 +1.171 82
6 Colin Edwards Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:37.410 +0.028 +1.199 51
7 Ben Spies Yamaha Factory Racing 1:37.421 +0.011 +1.210 69
8 Andrea Dovizioso Repsol Honda Team 1:37.460 +0.039 +1.249 63
9 Nicky Hayden Ducati Marlboro Team 1:37.463 +0.003 +1.252 89
10 Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team 1:37.679 +0.216 +1.468 17
11 Hiroshi Aoyama San Carlo Honda Gresini 1:38.032 +0.353 +1.821 73
12 Karel Abraham CardionABMotoracing 1:38.087 +0.055 +1.876 85
13 Toni Elias LCR Honda MotoGP 1:38.412 +0.325 +2.201 108
14 Loris Capirossi Pramac Racing Team 1:38.633 +0.221 +2.422 97
15 Nobuatsu Aoki Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 1:38.850 +0.217 +2.639 68
May 3, 2011 - Posted by | Andrea Dovizioso, Ben Spies, Casey Stoner, Colin Edwards, Dani Pedrosa, Ducati, Estoril, girlracer, Hector Barbera, Jorge Lorenzo, marco simoncelli, MotoGP, motorcycle racing, Nicky Hayden, Randy De Puniet, Valentino Rossi, Yamaha

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

