Motoette -in forward motion

MotoGP: Czech Republic’s Brno Pre Race Review

 

Cardion ab Grand Prix Ceske

This Friday the GP riders will once again be back in action after a near three-week summer hiatus. The Czech Republic’s Brno will be the host for this 11th round of the Cardion ab Grand Prix. The 3.357 mile circuit was originally built-in 1987, but was first most famous to some of the world’s most memorable GP events that took place through the villages and western parts of the city back in 1930 up until 1982.

This is a popular track for the riders, as well as the fans with its wide and fast undulating 6 left corners and 8 right turns and a natural bowl configuration that allows spectators an excellent view from almost anywhere in the stands.

The Repsol Honda trio is feeling good coming off of Laguna Seca and the set up with the RC212V. Current leader in standings, Casey Stoner left the States on a high with another podium win, his fifth of the year and a 20 point lead over reigning World Champion, Jorge Lorenzo. The straight-faced Aussie feels good about Brno with a history of a title-winning 2007 campaign, but the underlying question still remains; Stoner or Lorenzo for 2011?

Teammate, Andrea Dovizioso arrives in the Czech Republic full of motivation after a disappointing experience at Laguna. Dani Pedrosa continues to be on the mend, but is blowing the socks off his competitors with two podium wins since his return at Sachsenring and Laguna Seca.

The Factory Honda riders will be testing the new 1000cc at Brno on Monday (test day), after the race weekend, with the exception of Dovizioso, who mysteriously did not receive an invitation. Could it be due to a lack of a 2012 contract?

Casey Stoner:
“I’ve really enjoyed this summer break. After a great race in Laguna, we decided to stay in California and visit some friends and enjoy some down time, mixed in with some training. Now I feel relaxed and ready for the second half of the season. I’m looking forward to going to Brno, it’s a circuit I’ve always enjoyed and I believe with the results we’ve had in the past years we can expect to have a good race there.”

Andrea Dovizioso:

We arrive in Brno very motivated as we want to redeem the disappointing result of Laguna.Brnois a fast track; the curves have a long-range so the speed in the mid corner is high. I’m confident that we can be competitive there, the Honda machine is working very well and the characteristics of the track suit my riding style too.

Dani Pedrosa:
“These two and a half weeks have flown by for me, but I really enjoyed this break. The truth is that I needed it, first of all to rest after the last few races that were physically hard for me but also to disconnect a little and to train, to get back my physical strength and be fit again. My holidays have been a combination of all.

The Factory Yamaha duo, Jorge Lorenzo and Ben Spies comes off their holiday fresh and ready for the race weekend. Both will also be taking advantage of the hospitality of the Brno track and further testing the new 1000cc bike for the 2012 Championship.

Jorge Lorenzo:
“After the long break we are going to Brno completely recharged and ready to fight and try to reduce the gap to Casey. This is a track I like and where I won last year. I hope we can start the second half of the season on the podium. After the race we will be testing the 1000cc bike for one day. I am really looking forward to discovering the new Yamaha.”

Ben Spies:
“It’s been really cool to hang out at home with my friends and family in Texas and take a break from the racing. I’m looking forward to getting back on the bike now, especially at Brno which is a track I really enjoy. It was good to me in superbike and we showed a lot of potential there last year, I nearly had pole position and think I could have challenged for a podium if I hadn’t suffered a frond end grip issue early in the race.

Ducati’s Valentino Rossi took his break at a local beach close to his home in Italy. Now the vibrant rider gets ready for Brno, one of his favorite tracks because it’s wide and fast.

Teammate Nicky Hayden has one podium finish at Brno and spent most of his 3 week break testing the newly resurfaced (infield turns 5-16)  Indianapolis track piloting the Ducati 1198 SP. Even though the pair of Ducati riders are friends, the battle goes on between the two, with a mere 14 point spread.

Being known as one of the premier manufactures to conduct the most testing, it is still unknown who will be testing and what bikes.

Valentino Rossi:
“After Laguna I took a few days of vacation, at the beach close to home. It was a short break but enough to recharge the batteries following an intense period. Now we’ll spend a nice mid-August at Brno—classic! Seriously, I’m always happy to go there. I like the track not only because it’s very nice, wide and fast, and I’ve always gone well there, but also because it’s a special place for me since it’s where I earned my first pole, my first win and my first world championship. During both the race weekend and the Monday test, we’ll continue concentrating on the bike’s setup, with the goal of reducing the gap to the lead group.”

Nicky Hayden:

A big thanks to Ducati North America and IMS for all the hard work to make the test possible. I’m ready to get to Brno now. It’s a very different circuit to what we’ve been to for the last two races at the Sachsenring and Laguna Seca. Those are tight with short lap times, and Brno is definitely a big, open track. We know it won’t be easy, but we’ve just got to keep chipping away.

Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Colin Edwards and Cal Crutchlow capitalized on the expansive break to recharge their batteries in preparation for the final few races for the 2011 season. Both wanting to regain their momentum from the rain laden Silverstone, from several weeks ago.

Colin Edwards:

Looking ahead to this weekend, I’ve had some decent results at Brno but nothing really great. I’ve never scored a top six there so I’ll be aiming to put that right on Sunday. We’ve struggled with set-up issues since Sachsenring and nothing has gone fantastic since then. But I’m confident we can make the bike better at Brno and a good result will set us up nicely for the last seven races, starting with another trip home to Indianapolis later this month, which I’m really excited about.

Cal Crutchlow:
“I am looking forward to the second half of the season as some of the tracks that are coming up I know and I’ve done well on before, including Brno. Almost all the circuits in the first half of the season were new for me and I always had to learn from zero. But that’s all part of the learning experience and I’m concentrating solely on getting a good result this weekend and putting the bad luck behind me.

San Carlo Grisini Honda’s Marco Simoncelli and Hiroshi Aoyama look onward to the Masaryk circuit this weekend after a not so memorable time atCalifornia’s Laguna Seca. Simoncelli posting another DFN on his time sheet and Aoyama needing the time-lapse to further mend his injuries sustained at Assen. Could the rumors of Simoncelli going to Factory Ducati be true for 2012? If it is, he will most certainly have to make a grand effort to stay upright and gain some points for bargaining power! Aoyama, will also be out of contract this year….things that make you go hmmmm?

Marco Simoncelli: 
“Obviously, I would have preferred to go on holiday on the back of a different kind of result, but that’s the way it was and we just have to learn our lessons and move on from what happened at Laguna Seca. After a wonderful holiday in some fantastic American parks, I’ll go to Brno looking for the best possible result. We have to focus on the second half of the season and try to score some positive results. The circuit suits my riding style, even though I didn’t go so well there last year in MotoGP. I have won there before in the 250 class and I’ve also been on pole and on the podium in 125. Overall it’s a track I like and I hope to do well.”

Hiroshi Aoyama: 
“The result at Laguna Seca wasn’t particularly pleasing but I still wasn’t in good physical shape, so now after this break I hope I am in better shape at Brno. I need to rediscover my confidence in myself and the bike. It will be my first MotoGP appearance at Brno because I was injured here last year, so it will be a new experience, but I like the track and I was on the podium here in the 250cc class in 2006, as well as finishing fourth in 2009. I have the motivation to do well this weekend.”

Rizla Suzuki’s soloist, Alvaro Bautista will have yet another wild card teammate this weekend, this time it will be American BSB rider John Hopkins, his replacement in his absence inJerez.Brnowill be a pleasant return for Hopkins where he placed his best ever results, taking second for Rizla Suzuki. Bautista and Hopkins will be also testing the Suzuki GSV-R prototypes for the 2012 season.

Álvaro Bautista:
“I’ve been relaxing since the last race with a few days at the beach and now I’m training hard and looking forward to Brno. The last two races have been very positive and I think as a whole we are in the best position we have been since I’ve been in MotoGP. We need to continue with the progress we’ve made recently and the results will start to come. I had an injured back at Brno last year and couldn’t ride at my best, but I’m 100% now and will be pushing from day one. I hope John has a good weekend and enjoys himself; it will be good to have him there as it will give us the chance to push each other along. I’m sure we can work well together to get a good setting for the GSV-R and it will be nice to have a team-mate again! I’m excited about the Brno race – I will be giving my maximum!”

John Hopkins:
“This is my third race in as many weeks and I am really looking forward to it! It’s been very busy and doing these three different championships back-to-back is quite a challenge, but I am really excited to be back in amongst the big boys at MotoGP. When I rode at Jerez earlier in the year I’d had no real 2011 racing experience so it was a bit ‘in at the deep end.”

The Pramac team, Loris Capirossi and Randy de Puniet have been on the mend from recent crashes, but both plan on making an appearance on the Czech track in good form for the race weekend. Randy missed yet another race at Laguna after a disappointing qualifying crash and Loris has not been feeling his best physically with problematic shoulder problems. The Italian is being told by his doctors to undergo surgery, but the dedicated veteran rider will most likely wait until after the race season.

Loris Capirossi:
“Unfortunately, the shoulder problem is persisting. The doctor said I should undergo surgery, but I’ll only consider that after the championship. For now I’m undergoing therapy every day. For Brno I hope to continue improving my physical condition. I’ve rested during this two-week break, which I really needed. I want to ride well and to finally have a good result. The Czech track is one of my favorites, so hopefully I’ll manage that.”

Randy De Puniet:
“Missing the race at Laguna Seca was very difficult for me to accept, especially after the hard work carried out during practice and qualifying. During the past couple of weeks, I visited the doctor to better understand the situation with my pelvis. Fortunately, there are no fractures, but the pain still hasn’t gone away. I underwent, and am still undergoing, daily therapy in order to be ready for Brno. The bike had responded well to input in recent races, and it would be a shame not to take full advantage of this positive moment for us with the bike.”

Mapfre Aspar’s Hector Barbera has been making progress in leaps and bounds with his steady forward performance in the last four races.

Hector Barbera:

I love Brno and I am perfectly prepared for this one. I have done a lot of physical training over the break and I am looking forward to giving 200% on track. There are a lot of fast corners which are good for me and the goal is to improve on my best finish this season, which was sixth at Jerez, and continue the good form we have shown at Mugello, Sachsenring and Laguna Seca.”

Cardian ab Motoracing’s homeboy, Karel Abraham will be making history in his country by becoming the first Czech rider to compete in the premier class since Pavol Dekanek in 1989. Abraham will celebrate his return to home soil by racing with a special white livery this Sunday. The always smiling rookie hopes this will bring on added support to his fans and aid in pushing him past his twelfth position.

LCR’s Toni Elias will also be looking for improvements in his current 14th position in standings.

All racing action will commence starting this Friday August 12th at 10:10am (local time GMT+2) with the first free practice round.

In addition:  follow @girlracerlive @girlracerWSBK and @girlracerMotoGP on Twitter for all your racing news updates, and for racing information in its entirety, check out Girlracer.co.uk and our fan based blog on Girlracerlive.com

MotoGP World Standing 2011

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Casey STONER Honda AUS 193
2 Jorge LORENZO Yamaha SPA 173
3 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Honda ITA 143
4 Dani PEDROSA Honda SPA 110
5 Valentino ROSSI Ducati ITA 108
6 Ben SPIES Yamaha USA 98
7 Nicky HAYDEN Ducati USA 94
8 Colin EDWARDS Yamaha USA 67
9 Hiroshi AOYAMA Honda JPN 63
10 Marco SIMONCELLI Honda ITA 60
11 Hector BARBERA Ducati SPA 56
12 Karel ABRAHAM Ducati CZE 46
13 Alvaro BAUTISTA Suzuki SPA 39
14 Toni ELIAS Honda SPA 38
15 Cal CRUTCHLOW Yamaha GBR 34
16 Loris CAPIROSSI Ducati ITA 26
17 Randy DE PUNIET Ducati FRA 15
18 John HOPKINS Suzuki USA 6
19 Kousuke AKIYOSHI Honda JPN  
August 11, 2011 - Posted by | Alvaro Bautista, Andrea Dovizioso, Assen, Ben Spies, Brno, Casey Stoner, Colin Edwards, Dani Pedrosa, Ducati, girlracer, Hector Barbera, history of MotoGP, Jerez, Jorge Lorenzo, Laguna Seca, Loris Capirossi, marco simoncelli, MotoGP, motorcycle racing, mugello, Nicky Hayden, Randy De Puniet, toni elais, Valentino Rossi

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

